Board of County Commissioners

Board Photo


From left to right: Barry Penzel, Larry Walsh, Nancy McDermid, Dave Nelson, and Steve Thaler. The Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) is the governing, legislative body for Douglas County. The 5 members of the Board are elected at large, by district. Commissioners serve 4-year, overlapping terms, and receive limited compensation for their service to the community. Each year, the Board selects one of its members to serve as chairman and preside over public meetings.

Not sure who your commissioner is? Click here to launch our viewer map of the Commissioner Districts

To view a static map of the districts click here. 

The duties of the Board of Commissioners are to: 

  • Develop policies guiding the county in the delivery of services and achieving community goals
  • Encourage resident awareness and involvement
  • Maintain financial stability by overseeing the county budget process and allocations
  • Provide County Leadership

Agendas & Minutes

Meetings and agendas are posted in the Agenda and Meeting Portal 5 days prior to the scheduled meeting. An Action Summary is posted the day after the scheduled meeting, and meeting minutes are posted upon approval.

BOCC Meeting Attendance Schedule- November
BOCC Meeting Schedule

Can't attend the board meeting but would like to submit a comment? Comment Form

Board Norms & Procedures


District         Incumbent                                   Term 
District 1       Dave Nelson, Commissioner   2017-2020
       (775) 690-2970
District 2       Steve Thaler, Chairman             2015-2018
       (775) 721-1108
District 3       Larry Walsh, Commissioner      2017-2020 
       (775) 450-9414

District 4       Nancy McDermid, Commissioner      2007-2018 
                       (775) 267-7968

District 5       Barry Penzel, Vice Chair                       2013-2020
                       (775)  781-6075