Planning Division

What We Do

The Planning Division is responsible for protecting the public health, safety, and general welfare of Douglas County residents and property owners by reviewing development proposals to insure compliance with the Douglas County Master Plan (2011) and related zoning and land division regulations contained in the Consolidated Development Code (Title 20). The Planning Division provides the staff support for the Douglas County Planning Commission.

Master Plan

The Land Use Element of the Douglas County Master Plan (2011) contains the future land uses for Douglas County. Douglas County has regional and community plans which cover all 737.7 square miles of the county, There are 5 regional plans and 14 community plans in Douglas County. The future land use for each area or an individual parcel may be viewed here.


There are 26 base zoning districts and 8 zoning overlay districts in Douglas County. Each zoning district regulates the type and intensity of land uses permitted in each district. The Douglas County Official Zoning Maps may be viewed here.

Additional Information

For information on land uses or development regulations in Douglas County, please contact the Planning Technician at 775-782-6217 or email the Planning Department.

The Public Counter is located on the second floor of the Minden Inn in Room 202.

Monday - Thursday 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 12:00 pm
Email the Planning Department

Planning Division

Sam Booth
Planning Manager

Physical Address
1594 Esmeralda Ave.
Minden, NV 89423

Mailing Address
P.O. Box 218
Minden, NV 89423

Ph: 775-782-6217
Fx: 775-782-9007


Monday - Thursday
8 a.m. - 3 p.m.

8 a.m. - Noon

Staff Directory


What are the setbacks and zoning for my property?

Is my property in the floodplain?

View All

Quick Links


Tahoe Regional Planning Agency